Ok, I hope for some of you reading that I won’t come across as old old old. Hopefully someone my age will see this and possibly relate to it!

So I have precisely 47 hours and 35 minutes left of my 20’s and I can’t believe I’m going to be 30. I know, I should have expected this when I turned 29 but with a 6 month old baby and a relationship which was feeling the strain I wasn’t really interested in what was happening around the time of my birthday and now I can’t even lie about my age because I have a (wonderful) twin brother who has announced our age on facebook.

Not that I’m ashamed it’s just….. Well I don’t feel grown up enough to be 30. My lovely teenage cousin has made me well aware that I”m no longer ‘down with the kids’ and that the expression ‘down with the kids’ went out with the dinosaurs. It was a sad day when she asked me did I get any ‘jokes’ presents for Christmas and my reply was ‘well that depends’ on what? ‘on what jokes means’. She laughed and kinda explained it to me but I still don’t really get it. Which completely set me panicking, if I don’t get it even AFTER it’s been explained is this like when I’m trying to teach my parents/grandma/older generation about technology and they just don’t get it??

So to help me feel as though my 20’s wasn’t an utter waste of time I decided to try and compile a list of stuff I learnt during my 20’s that I will probably have forgotten in a decade’s time (*gasp* 40 – let’s not even go there!). So here goes:

1. The job I had from when I was 24 – 27 was the best job I’ve ever had and I really should have appreciated it more at the time.

2. No matter how good my intentions and how often I clean and tidy; my house will always look like student digs.

3. Labour pains are indescribable to anyone who hasn’t experienced them themselves.

4. Likewise the sleep deprivation from having a newborn. I used to think I knew what it was like having been a bit of a party animal and never getting enough sleep and always drinking too much. I didn’t know what it was like. At all.

5. I always wanted to start a blog thinking I had so much to tell the world. Turns out I don’t and as much as I want to share with people, everytime I sit down to type it feels like homework.

6. With age comes confidence, I started my 20’s quite shy and with a real lack of confidence, I leave my 20’s still a bit shy but with utter confidence, which I can only consider a gift of getting older.

7. No matter how old I get my Mother will always drive me C-R-A-Z-Y!!!

8. My mid to late 20’s was a period where a handful of friends buggered off to live in different countries & continents and decided not to come back. It works out life can be much better abroad. I wouldn’t know, I can’t find my passport and when I finally locate it it won’t be valid because I’ll be needing it in a different name.

9. Works out 30 is the age that Stu finally drags me down the aisle and after 27 years of knowing each other and having a baby together it’s time…….. to get majorly stressed out with wedding planning.

10. I could think up another thing to put here OR I could go off and start to count down and celebrate the final 47 hours and 22 minutes of my 20’s.

Bye!! See you on the other side 🙂

